NBCUniversal Media Scholarship

The NBCUniversal Media Scholarship Program is intended to assist and encourage outstanding undergraduate Latino students attending a U.S. post-secondary institution with an interest in the media and entertainment industry. The Program awards ten (10) $5,000 national scholarships to qualified rising sophomores and juniors and is sponsored by NBCUniversal and administered by the LULAC National Educational Service Centers (LNESC).

The scholarship award of $5,000 will be divided into two equal disbursements of $2,500 made in the fall and spring. Scholarships are non-renewable. Recipients are required to enroll as a full-time student and maintain a cumulative college grade point average of at least a 3.0 on a 4.0 scale or the equivalent to be eligible for the second scholarship disbursement.

After completion of the fall semester, recipients must submit a copy of their grade report and enrollment verification for the spring semester to the national office in order to receive the spring check disbursement. Scholarship awards are sent directly to the recipient’s college or university and deposited in the recipient’s name. The funds will be allocated toward the payment of tuition and academic fees, and the purchase of required educational materials and books. The school is the custodian of the funds and will disburse the award consistent with the purpose of this program.

Eligibility Requirements

Applicants must be:

  • A college sophomore or junior enrolled full-time in an accredited college or university
  • At least 18 years of age or older
  • Have a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.0 on a 4.0 scale or the equivalent
  • Must be a U. S. Citizen, Legal Permanent Resident, or have legal authorization to work in the U.S. without requiring sponsorship now or in the future
  • Have an interest in the media and entertainment industry; all majors are welcomed


The 2023 application period for the NBCUniversal Media Scholarship is closed.

Program Impact

For 2023-24, ten recipients were selected for the program to pursue a four-year degree at Florida International University; Texas A&M University - Kingsville; University of Cincinnati; University of Florida; University of Houston; University of North Carolina; University of Texas at Austin; Washington University in St. Louis; and, Western Carolina University. 

From the previous cohort of recipients, 100% of students continued their studies in a post-secondary institution and are on track to receive a four-year degree.

2023-24 NBCUniversal Media Scholarship Recipients

Ana-Laura Anaya

University of Texas at Austin, Special Education

Juan Coronado Banda

University of Houston, Media Production

Elizabeth Cruz

Western Carolina University, Stage and Screen

Santiago Daza Quintero

University of Cincinnati, Communications

Sebastian Del Campo

University of North Carolina at Greensboro, Computer Science

Romina Diaz-Rivero

Washington University in St. Louis, Communication Design

Kevin Donnelly

University of Florida, Music & Business Management

Jacqueline Pecker

Florida International University, Digital TV + Multimedia Production

Edgar Valles

University of Texas at Austin, Radio-Television and Film

Sophia Yzaguirre

Texas A&M University-Kingsville, Business Marketing

Student Voices